Auto Insurance In Colorado
Every car owner knows that having car insurance is important. It helps protect you, as a driver, your vehicle, and other parties on the road. If an accident happens, you want to make sure that you carry the right insurance to take care of any bodily and property injury costs. Auto insurance requirements and laws vary from state to state, and if you are shopping for car insurance in the state of Colorado, Colorado State Insurance prepared a list of things you should know:
- Car insurance is required in the Centennial State, meaning that driving without proper auto insurance is considered illegal. It is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor offense called "Failure to Hold Insurance." If you are convicted of this, you may face up to $1,000 in fines and suspension of your driver's license for up to 8 months.
- Colorado is an "at fault" state. This means that the insurance company of an at-fault driver in a car accident is responsible for paying the expenses. This includes car repairs and medical costs. If an at-fault driver does not cover proper insurance, the other driver will request compensation from their own insurance company.
- Certain factors affect the cost of auto insurance, including your zip code, the type of your car, your personal characteristics (age, gender, marital status, etc.), and driving history.
- Here is a list of things that may increase your car insurance rate: adding a driver to the policy, traffic violations, at-fault accidents, a lapse in insurance, and some others.
If you are currently searching for a car insurance policy to cover your Centennial State vehicle and do not know where to start, please reach Colorado State Insurance. Our highly qualified, knowledgeable, and experienced insurance agents will provide you with the information you may need and answer all of your questions. All you need to do is to visit our office or give us a call.